Another cheeseball experiment …

D&D_0312

Pineapple Cheeseball Excellent photo – yep! That’s the MotH!

I think I have a cheeseball problem. But I don’t think that is a bad thing. Growing up, we had a cheeseball always at Christmas, but no other time. That seems a shame really because they are great year-round. Especially now in the awful heat of summer – easy dinner with crackers. Right? Yep.

Pineapple Cheese Ball
8 ozs cream cheese, softened
8 ozs onion & chive cream cheese, softened
8 ozs crushed pineapple, drained
1 tsp garlic powder
1 scallion, finely diced
1/2 cup toasted pecans, chopped
2 cups extra sharp cheddar, shredded

Mix together cream cheese, onion & chive cream cheese, crushed pineapple, and garlic powder. Stir in the scallion, pecans, and 1/2 cup shredded cheddar. Shape into one or two balls and roll in remaining cheddar cheese.* Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm.

*You may need extra cheddar if making two cheeseballs. You can also roll the cheeseball in pecans instead, but you will need more pecans.

I think I love these new Triscuit crackers – fire roasted tomatoes and olive oil – love them! Yep, I said love twice — so Triscuit you need to sponsor me because one of my favorite things is a Triscuit with cream cheese and hot pepper jelly – homemade hot pepper jelly, of course.

Is cheeseball one word or two? Me and spell check have differences on this and it is funny. Many thanks to Melissassouthernstylekitchen.com/2014/12/pineapple-cheeseball.html for the recipe. I think next time I will try pineapple tidbits – strange word – tidbits. But there it is. And a minced onion and chives instead of the flavored creamed cheese – I think it will work and will make my friends happy because I always share my cheese balls

Leave a Reply

