Lemon Icebox Cookies

D&D_0280

Lemon Icebox Cookies

It’s pretty obvious that I will try any lemon cookie (or cake for that matter) on the planet.  I think you will find that people that are not chocolate people (which is about <5% of the female population – my guess only, but I think I am correct), are lemon people. I can kind of take chocolate or leave it. I may want a little square of chocolate every once in a while, but … it’s kind of meh once I get it. But I love all things citrus.

Consequently,  I will slavishly try any citrus recipe. What I wonder is why are there so many lemon recipes, but not so many lime recipes? Limes are amazing. Although I think Meyer lemons are just the best. The combination of lemon and orange – so fragrant … well, now I’m just distracted. There we go again with me being … I’m not sure how to phrase it, but I think – lack of focus  – works best.

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 large eggs

2 Tbs honey

1 Tbs grated lemon zest

1 tsp lemon extract

2 all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

In a stand mixer, beat together butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg, honey, zest and extract and beat until combined. In a bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and baking soda. Mix into the butter mixture until just blended. The dough will be sticky. Divide in half and roll each half into a log about 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Wrap tightly and refrigerate dough until firm 3 hours minimum and up to overnight.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment Unwrap one log and slice the dough 5/8 inch thick. Place round on baking sheet 2 inches apart. Return remaining dough to the refrigerator. Bake until golden for 11 – 13 minutes. Transfer cookies to a wire rack and cool completely. Sprinkle with a thin layer of confectioners’ sugar. Store in an airtight container.

Notes: This is a sticky dough. These baked perfectly at. 12 minutes. Well received by all, but I thought the lemon extract was just a bit strong. I think it could use more lemon flavor some how.

Would I make them again, yes. With some modifications to add more lemon flavor without extract.

Leave a Reply

