Peanut Butter Fudge

D&D_0269

Peanut Butter Fudge

This recipe is from my favorite student staff member … from her grandmother. So excellent.

2 cups sugar
3 Tbs butter
1 cup evaporated milk
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup peanut butter

Prep an 8 x 8 glass pan with cooking spray.
Put sugar, butter, and milk in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Turn down heat to minimum and stir continuously until the mixture is caramel brown and the candy thermometer reaches 245 degrees (use the thermometer – no really, do it!)  Remove from heat, add vanilla and peanut butter. Stir until completely mixed. Place in a 8 x 8 glass pan and let firm up. Then cut into bite-sized pieces.

New refrain in my house: “No, you are not getting any fudge.” This, you must understand, is being said repeatedly to our dog Hood regarding peanut butter fudge. It is my fault, I stared by giving him a little, now I have created a monster.

My mom made us a great breakfast thing and it was based on the fact that her family was poor. How to extend peanut butter for a very large family? In this case you boil sugar and water and add vanilla extract. And then stir it into peanut butter. It makes a smooth spread, slightly sweeter than peanut butter and with a hint of vanilla flavor. We would spread it on toast for a great Saturday breakfast in front of the television watching cartoons. When I was a kid, that was the only time cartoons were on – oh, how things have changed. Sometimes when I’m in the mood for a late night snack, I still make this. But only if I give Hood some peanut butter too.

 

Leave a Reply

