Peanut Butter Cookies

D&D_0267

Wonderful Peanut Butter Cookies

I am a huge peanut butter person. I like it on toast and in my oatmeal and in a peanut butter and raisin sandwich. Strange, I understand, but that’s just me. It’s a great lunchbox favorite. That said, I really have not been a fan of peanut butter cookies – like every.  How strange is that? I feel the same way about peanut butter that I feel about chocolate. Not a fan of mixing either really. Okay not with each other for sure despite the commercial for Reese’s peanut butter cups.  Peanut butter needs to stand on its own. Chocolate can only be mixed with … pecans, or nuts of any kind, and toffee, and caramel. Yep. That’s it.

This was a request from one of my favorite persons – a chef that cooks for me at least once a weekend. I like to make the guys in the kitchen happy and I think I do. I like a request, but when they don’t come, I just wing it. But this was the chef’s request – how could I not do it?

So these peanut butter cookies are a bit of a mix between of a couple of recipes: Granddad Danner’s Peanut Butter Cookies and  Nancy Fuller’s Peanut Butter Cookies. I love the addition of rolling them in sugar before baking.

1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon table salt

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup smooth peanut butter, at room temperature

1/4 cup sugar

3/4  cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup peanut butter chips – be generous

1/4 cup granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and table salt in a medium bowl (in my case I do this over a large piece of waxed paper – easier and less things to wash – thanks mom!). In a large bowl (of a stand mixer – cause I’m lazy and don’t have a hand mixer), cream together the butter, peanut butter, and sugars. Mix in the egg and vanilla. Add the flour in bits and mix until smooth -don’t mix it to death. Fold in the peanut butter chips. Roll the mixture into balls (about 1 1/2 tablespoons). Roll them in granulated sugar or a mixture of granulated sugar and raw sugar. Once on baking sheet, press each cookie down with the tines of a fork in the tradition of all peanut butter cookies. Bake for 10 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking time. Cool on a wire rack.

These were pretty good, I have to admit and the kitchen staff demolished them in minutes. I think I may have set a precedent that I cannot live up to. So what’s next? They asked for chocolate chip which I have done, but I’m thinking M & M cookies would be excellent too. Who knows – might be more lemon cookies. Hardly surprising.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

