Grape Salad – not really a salad, but a dessert thing

This is purportedly a southern dish, but honestly I’ve never heard of such a thing. Curiosity got the better of me though and I had to try it. But not with a full blown 4 pounds of grapes that the recipe calls for. Wasn’t going to take a risk and ruin a bunch of grapes that way.

This should tell you how much of a skeptic I am – very very skeptical. I had seen the recipe somewhere in the internet, but really thought it was some strange thing that I would never do or like – like a jello salad. Had even considered it a joke of sorts. I mean who does this? Then I saw in one of Trisha Yearwood’s cookbooks, Home Cooking with Trisha Yearwood (page 200), which has many recipes that are so very similar to many of my own extended family recipes. So I thought I’d give it a shot.

So here is a very pared down version –  no wasting of grapes involved – to at least get an idea if this thing even works or not. Verdict below.D&D_0242

1/2 pound grapes – pick your color, washed and dried very well
1 Tbs cream cheese, softened
1 Tbs sour cream
1 1/2 tsp sugar
Pinch of table salt
1/4 cup pecans, chopped

Wash grapes and dry completely on paper towels. In a bowl big enough to hold your grapes, mix together cream cheese, sour cream, sugar and pinch of salt. Add your grapes, and mix well. Pour the grapes into a shallow pan and refrigerate overnight. Before serving, sprinkle with pecans.

Notes: Salt was not in the original recipe, but I thought it was necessary. The actual recipe also calls for adding brown sugar before serving. That just seemed like overkill to me.

I’m still not sure about this recipe, but it is kind of tasty for breakfast. Everyone at work that tried it, liked it, but  none of the true southerns had heard of it either.  Just saying.

I don’t think this picture does it justice, but I may have over done it with the cream cheese. I just can’t help myself when it comes to cream cheese. Or any kind of cheese. I mean what is wrong with any kind of extra cheese?  Nothing I can think of … and local pecans – so sweet and tasty. Thank you Renfroe’s.

 

Leave a Reply

