Baking involves planning – if you want to make it easy.

D&D_9611

Easy Baking

I love to bake. I think that is probably obvious. I learned an important lesson from my mom when it comes to this. Measuring out the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt – is beyond time consuming and amazingly boring. So I use her plan to make it easy for weeknight baking which is always a pleasant surprise for the people I work with (hate ending sentence like that  – see grammar nazi – thank you Bug Martini – funny and wrong at the same time – love it!).

Once again, side tracked. So here, really, is how I do this. Say on the weekend, I’ve decided to make cookies or a cake, so I have to measure the dry ingredients, otherwise the recipe won’t work – Surprise! But while the recipe of my choice bakes, I pull out all the other recipes of things I’m thinking about baking and I just go ahead and measure and sift (I always sift) the dry ingredients and put them in labeled zip-top bags. Simple enough.

My mom did this at the holidays because her banana nut bread was a gift to her close friends and she made an assembly line of it, but that works for any baked thing really. At some point, once you have flour on the counter, it doesn’t really matter, does it?

 

Leave a Reply

