(Lack of) Pie Repertoire

We were not a potato family growing up – that’s not to say we didn’t eat potatoes at all, but at any given meal, the starch of choice was rice. So, therefore, while I do love hash browns and home fries, I am not a huge fan of french fries, and definitely not of mashed potatoes. So, I in turn, don’t turn to potatoes all that often (potato salad excepting – there will more on that shortly). Latkes are a part of my Christmas tradition and I love a good corned beef hash w/onions and potatoes, but my repertoire is not very extensive.

The same holds true for pies. The only pie my mom made, as far as I can remember, was pecan pie for me for my birthday – that was my birthday “cake.” I don’t remember a single apple or berry pie from my childhood at all. No pumpkin or sweet potato either. Therefore the only pie I make on a regular basis is a pecan pie. I do make an occasional lemon curd tart thanks to an excellent recipe from the original (1992) Martha Stewart’s Pies and Tarts cookbook.* But I think it is past time to remedy this situation.

But then the question arises – how to do this when there are only three of us? And of those three, one who does not care for sweets, no less. Whole pies don’t make sense for just three people – at least not in my head they don’t. Is there a way of making smaller – individual pies?

Well, I did a little research and there is – I just purchased a 6″ glass pie dish from Williams-Sonoma. While I wait on the delivery, I will have time to decide how to down size recipes for pies that I want to try. Math is not my strong suit. Sigh.

What better time to start a round of individual pies than summer – and my first project will be a blueberry cream cheese pie. Blueberries are super inexpensive right now and I can get locally grown ones too — all the better.

* Amazingly good lemon curd recipe! There are many excellent recipes in this book and I will be getting more than just the lemon curd and green tomato pie sections messy in the near future.  The pictures are amazing – esp. the one of curds made from store bought eggs vs. fresh farm eggs. Need to find an egg source here that isn’t too far away.

Leave a Reply

