Pecan Pie Muffins – A Southern Tradition

D&D_0141

Pecan Pie Muffin

It’s strange how often Southern recipes make the rounds. I saw a recipe in Trisha Yearwood’s Georgia Cooking in an Oklahoma Kitchen and remembered that I had had something like this before. Amusing how it works since we are all connected. I had my original recipe from my friend Dawn who grew up in a very small North Florida town. I found out today it was her mom’s favorite and she still makes it for her and I totally get it.
This was a huge success with my friends and with the Boy, who I think might expect me to make them weekly. They are easy enough to make after work as long as you get the eggs to room temperature.
Of course, it helps that we have the best local pecans around. Renfroe‘s is our local pecan place and I get about 3 pounds at a time and keep them in the freezer. And I never follow the measurements on nuts – kind of the same way I think about cheese – there is always room for just a bit more.

1 cup chopped pecans
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 large eggs
13.5 Tbs butter, melted and cooled * **

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with 9 muffin cups and spray with non stick spray.
In a large bowl, combine pecans, flour, and sugar and mix well to combine. Make a well in the center of these ingredients.
In another bowl, beat eggs until foamy. Add the cooled melted butter and stir to combine. Pour butter mixture into dry ingredients, stir until just mixed.
Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Remove from pan immediately and cool on a wire rack.

D&D_0149

Pecan Pie Muffin

7 March 2004
6 July 2015

* I hate measurements for butter that give both cups and then tablespoons. Pick one please. Or by weight.  Ugh.

** I just played this by ear and went with something that was between the two recipes. And was probably more butter than needed, but I baked them a bit longer than needed and they were amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

