Cranberry Horseradish Relish

DD_0320_b

Cranberry Horseradish Relish

Totally wrong time of the year, but you can’t help what you want when you want it. This is excellent!

Cranberry Horseradish Relish

  • 2 pkgs (6 cups) fresh cranberries
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh orange juice
  • 1/3 cup prepared horseradish
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves

Combine sugar and orange juice in sauce pan. Boil until sugar dissolves. Add cranberries and return to boil. Simmer until cranberries begin to burst. Let cool completely; mix in horseradish and cloves. Refrigerate.

Bench Notes: Easy peasy. I’ve been making this since (gasp) the late 1990’s. If I remember correctly, this was a Southern Living recipe and I used to make it for my small family but share half with a great friend and her family. Now I make for my larger family and another great friend, and her family enjoys it too.

I bring it to all Thanksgiving gathering whether anyone wants it there or not, because I like it – not any protest as far as I’ve heard. It will last in the fridge for months and is excellent on leftover turkey sandwiches esp. with bleu cheese dressing. And really good with any roasted meat. I make sure to set some aside for the best Mother-in-Law a wife could ever have.  But, by definition, it is Thanksgiving to me. My Thanksgiving because I made it when it was just me and The Boy.  Funny, because we always had the Ocean Spray canned stuff with the marked lines for cutting – which I also loved – growing up.* Guess we all grow up at some point.

Oh, and fresh cranberries can be stored in the freezer for later use – for about ever.  Nice since my grocery store sells them for Buy one – Get one for the week before Thanksgiving.

It’s now July and I am craving this. I think I know why. Our freezer puked back in the spring and I lost my cranberries and everything else except for the nuts and chocolate chips. Just couldn’t take the chance with the cranberries. But I am so ready for this Oct / Nov. Will not be w/out this again.

* We also had a pickle and olive tray at our Thanksgiving table. Olives – ugh, but sweet Gerkins were my favorites – other than bread & butter, the only pickle I like except for the ones I make. I think I may ask my Dad for that tray. Don’t expect anyone else will – at least I hope not.

Leave a Reply

