Lemon Hummus

D&D_9567

Lemon Hummus

I have a hard time buying ready-made hummus – even when it’s on sale. I can’t rationalize that since it’s so easy to make at home. I’ve been making this since the Boy was young, maybe before that. Another thing I make with no recipe, just wing it. I usually have tahini on hand, but even if I don’t, I make hummus anyway. There are some things that are necessary though: garlic, lemon, and garbanzo beans. I know, I know, some people make hummus with edamame or white beans or even boiled peanuts, nope sorry, I’m, once again, a traditionalist about making it, but not a traditionalist about eating it. I don’t eat it with pita chips or crudités, I use it as a sandwich spread. Specifically, my favorite sandwich – super sharp cheddar, hummus, and a little mayo. It sounds boring, but it’s a simple pleasure of mine. The biggest thing for me though is that hummus has to sit for several hours or, better yet, overnight – the garlic mellows, the lemon and salt flavor the beans. It’s only after the flavors comes together that it really becomes hummus.

Here’s what I do.
Rinse a can of garbanzo beans – really rinse them well. This is a key step. While they are draining, mince two cloves of garlic in the food processor, add the garbanzo beans, and the juice of two decent-sized lemons. You can add less, but why would you? Add two big tablespoons of tahini, making sure it’s mixed well because of its maddening habit of separating. Add a pinch of salt and whirl away. If it needs it, add a little water to make it smoother. That’s it. Pretty simple really. Then wait till tomorrow to eat it. Advanced planning required.

Leave a Reply

