Roast Beef with Gravy

My mom’s “recipe” (seem to start a lot of ideas that way when it comes to cooking) for roast beef and gravy was amazing. Maybe I have a memory that makes things seem better after time, but I do not think so. In our family, it was a thing on your birthday that you decided dinner for the night. I was weird, so my favorite meal was, the very exotic, taco ( I know, I know) and, wait for it … pecan pie. No cake for me. It was is totally a strange combination. I knew it then and I really know it now. But it is what I wanted and that’s what I got. And May 12th happens to be my birthday. Who knew? Um. me.

D&D_9463

Roast Beef w gravy and Carrot & Raisin Salad

My elder (only) brother, on the other hand, was more reasonable. And it’s funny now that I think about it. His was the only other birthday dinner I know by heart even now. Of the 4 of us – just mine and his. His was Roast Beef and gravy with rice and carrot and raisin salad. I’m sure he had a cake, and I expect it was yellow cake with fudge frosting. That cake was amazing and I guess I need to figure it out too.

Back to my mom’s recipe. It still makes me laugh, because it’s slightly absurd. You put the roast in the over at 450 degrees until, as she said, the smoke detector goes off. Then you lower the temp to 350 degrees and cook. But this recipe sounds really good to me and might be a bit more accurate or something. Nothing about smoke detector – which is slightly sad in a way.

Roast Beef with Gravy
– Trisha Yearwood
1.5 pound boneless chuck roast
salt and black pepper
1 large red onion, sliced
1/4 cup cider vinegar
4 Tbs all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Line a 9 x 13 pan with heavy duty foil large enough to fully wrap the roast. The shiny side of the foil should be up. Sprinkle roast on all sides with salt and pepper and place in the center of the foil Spread onion slices over the top and pour vinegar around it. Bring the ends of the foil together and fold several times to completely enclose the roast pour 1 inch of water in the pan around the roast. Bake until roast is fork tender, about 3-4 hours. Check the water level in the pan regularly and replenish as needed

When the roast is done, remove package from pan and let cool for a few minutes. Open package carefully transfer meat to a platter and keep warm. Pour roasting juice into measuring cup and let fat rise to the surface. Skim off fat, reserving 4 Tbs in a sauce pan and discard rest. If not 4 Tbs, add butter to make up the difference.

Measure the remaining defatted pan juices and reserve. If you have less than 2 cups, add water to make 2 cups. Add flour to fat in saucepan, and stir with wire whisk over medium low heat until the flour is lightly browned, about 1 minute. Slowly whisk in reserved pan juices and stir until thicker.

Slice the roast or cut into chunks and serve with gravy.

March 2015   – and make some rice for the gravy and then some carrot and raisin salad – yep. Dale always had it right. Probably my third favorite dinner – right after tacos (w/pecan pie)  and chicken and rice. Totally. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

