Rosemary Parmesan Shortbread – make at your peril. No, seriously.

Please don’t make this.* No, really, I mean it. Don’t.  How do you deal with a recipe like this? See below.

2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 tsp finely chopped rosemary
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup finely grated Parmesan
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 tsp water, if necessary

Put the flour, sugar, rosemary, salt, and Parmesan into the bowl of food processor and pulse until combined. Add the butter and pulse just until a soft dough forms, the dough should hold together when squeezed together. If not, add water and pulse to combine.

Spread a large sheet of plastic wrap on a work surface and transfer dough on to it. Using the wrap, form dough into a log until tight and about 2 1/2 inches in diameter. Chill in the refrigerator until firm, about an hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment. Slice dough into 1/3 inch slices and arrange on baking sheets about 1 inch apart. Bake until the edges are just beginning to brown, 12 to 14 minutes. Cool the shortbread for 5 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Claire Robinson (sorry, I kind of like you, but don’t like this – what can I say?)

* I may just be an idiot, but I had to try this. Confectioners’ sugar? Should have known better. Really? But I do love me some cheese crackers and am pretty much willing to try any recipe for them.  So strange, I just had to do it. It’s oddly compelling.  But that was a huge mistake. What do you do with a recipe like this? Keep it as a warning? Well if you’re me, I will live with this forever and I will never make that mistake again. And it ended up in the trash can after the first batch. There we are. Ugh. What a waste of rosemary. No picture because there are no crackers. I should have known better since I make crackers all the time. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

