Lemon Chewy Crisps

D&D_9496

Lemon Chewy Crisps

I’ve been making this amazing recipe since 2007  –  at least three times that fall. Yep that’s what I do. Find a recipe I like and make it over and over again. And the MotH liked them which is slightly amazing. It’s hard when I have so many lemon cookie recipes that I have made and more that I haven’t. So do you make your favorites again or do you try something new? It’s difficult for me, but since this cookie hasn’t been made since I started this bit of stuff, it makes me want to make these again. Last time I made them was mid-year 2012. So why not go for it and I have every bit of the recipe on hand. Not surprising since it’s a lemon cookie. That’s my kind of cookie.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 Tbs lemon zest (from one lemon)
1 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice
3/4 vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixture on high speed until light and fluffy. Beat in remaining ingredients except flour until well blended.* On low speed, beat in flour until just blended.
Drop by rounded teaspoons 1 1/2 inches apart on a parchment lined baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar because that’s what I do You could use sliced almonds, which is in the recipe but I’m not a fan. That’s just me. Think about it .. Crunchy sugar. It’s a lovely thing. Shall I mention Pecan Sandies again.
Bake 10 – 12 minutes until the edges are lightly browned. Cool on baking sheet for at least a minute. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to one one week. But they will not last that long.

Source: These people who I thank greatly.

16 Sept 2007 vg SR. Likes
2007 Thanksgiving
2007 Christmas Eve
8 February 2009
12 July 2012
29 March 2015

* I mix the dry ingredients together, sifting them. Because I do this a couple of days ahead. It makes making everything easier. There are times I just sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt for a variety of baking things and when I’m ready, this makes it easier. My mom used to do this with banana nut bread every Christmas. It was an assembly line which is pretty cool although I didn’t realize it at the time.

Leave a Reply

