Lemon Sugar Cookies

D&D-9359

Lemon Sugar Cookies

These may be the most perfect cookies ever. And that is not hyperbole. They are lemon, of course. I mean that’s my thing… but they were easy and the bake time was perfect if you adjust for my oven temperature. Your 375 degrees is my 365 degrees. I have no idea, once again, where this recipe comes from. But a Google search for lemon sugar cookies turns up almost everything. So I won’t bother.

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 Tbs lemon zest
2 large eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2-3 Tbs sugar, for rolling

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. (I just do this on waxed paper.)
In a large bowl, cream together butter, sugar, and lemon zest until mixture is light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time, followed by vanilla. Gradually mix in flour at low speed, scraping down the sides of bowl as necessary. It will be necessary.
Shape 1 inch balls of dough, roll in the sugar and place on prepared baking sheets.
Bake for 9 – 11 minutes, until set but not browned (or only lightly on the bottom). Edges should be slightly firm.
Cool cookies on the pan for a minute, the transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container. Makes about 4 dozen

28 February 2015 – I have a habit of making dough and stalling on making cookies, but not this time. These cookies are amazing. And everyone at work (my lovely people who eat things that I have never made before) really liked them.

And the February Butter Count is, for this recipe,is 16 Tbs. I think it’s butter that makes things so much better.

Leave a Reply

