Duke & Bering

Bering & Duke

 

I know people think you have a forever dog. I think I have had two (so far). Bering (yes, named for the Bering Sea – great idea from the Boy), our Siberian Husky – wow – he pretty much didn’t do anything you ever told him to do, but that’s kind of, well, him. It’s a Husky thing. He was so beautiful. Perfect – not too light or too dark and with the bluest eyes you’ve ever seen. It is one of those things you have to get used to, a dog with blue eyes.  The best part – he didn’t like kids. He was a rescue, so we don’t know the whole story, but he was not your “Snow Dog.” I do miss him. I would have loved to have had more time with him and so often I think of him. The husky chortle (woo woo woo) when I came home from work was one of the best things ever and the occasional howl – just like a wild dog – in the backyard – slightly unnerving. Now one thing I never understood: why people, when they saw him, would ask “Is that a wolf?” Really? Who has a wolf as a pet – um, no one. He was a barrel of a dog and so missed by me, esp. that chortle. A Husky is a talker, that’s for sure. Oh, and he had a snow nose – look it up.

Duke is the best dog in the world. He was my first dog in every sense of the word. The Boy was so young, but he had a dog at 10 – the type of dog he wanted – a German Shepherd Dog. Probably a good age if you think about it and Duke thinks he and the Boy are brothers – it’s so cool. But there is just no denying that the GSD was linked, beyond belief, to the Man of the House. Duke puked on him on the way back from Homa, LA. It was funny, but I would never say that. The breeder was a lovely man, but Duke’s mom didn’t like kids or people really and when she was on her hind legs, she was as tall as me – just like Duke is – though he can’t do that anymore. And thankfully he has always had the best temperament.  I remember so many times having him out and about and little kids petting him and a couple of toddlers pinching his nose and practically sitting on him. So laid back  – he puts up with just about anything  – the best tempered dog ever. We will never be so lucky again.

fin

 

 

Leave a Reply

