I have, pretty much, had it.

This is a total rant – and I do realize that. I am so done with it. I have HAD it with the rolled up refrigerator pie dough. It is always a hassle, but there must be a better way than this. It doesn’t want to unroll and that’s just the beginning of the problems. It’s supposed to be a convenience, but it never really is. It’s always a pain, and it totally shrinks when it’s blind baked. There must be a better way

Doesn’t matter if you follow directions, which I do (mostly).  It splits and is too thin in places. I spend more time fixing it – I might as well make it myself. It is just not convenient – which is what it is supposed to be.

What I would like to find is a press-in-the-pan pie crust that would be sturdy enough for quiche. I refuse to do this again.

New quest  – decent quiche crust. Somewhere in the back of my head, I’ve seen a press-in-the-pan crust on America’s Test Kitchen or Cook’s Country, but I might be delusional.  Or what the hell, maybe forgo the crust all together and bake it without one – like a frittata. It just might work – sounds like project food (food that is a project) to me.

Leave a Reply

