Just a little defeated …

My fridge and freezer stopped working (or to put it a little more vulgarly – puked) this weekend. It is painful to throw so much away, but it has to be done. I’ve done this once before after Hurricane Ivan and that was pretty awful too.

I was able to save some things I store in the freezer just for longer term storage, i.e. – they didn’t technically need to be there and could deal with a few days outside the cold, but good lord, the things I had to get rid of. It’s pretty much terrible.

So, I saved all my nuts (pecans, walnuts, almonds), my chips (semi-sweet, butterscotch, white) and some banana nut bread, and about four pounds of butter (again, stored in freezer for convenience). But lost pasta sauce, quiche (which was an experiment to see if it would handle being frozen and reheated), frozen spinach, lemonade concentrate, hot dogs, heavy cream, buttermilk, eggs, cranberries, chopped peppers for pepper jelly, squash pickles, cottage cheese, schmaltz, bacon drippings, etc. Just feel defeated. I know this is nothing of epic proportion, but it does take the wind out of your sails a bit.

Need to restock – a little at a time. But I guess the silver lining is that the freezer and fridge are cleaned out and that’s kind of nice in it’s own way. And they are both working again – after only two visits from the repairman.

Tomorrow we have a Mardi Gras potluck and the plan was for a Pecan Cream Cake with cream cheese frosting, but with no guarantee of a fridge, that wasn’t an option, so I went for cookies instead. Salted Butterscotch Pecan Cookies to be exact. But I will still have that Pecan Cream Cake in my future.

Leave a Reply

