Rosemary Cheddar Crackers – Foster’s Market

D&D-9176

Rosemary Cheddar Crackers

2 cups (8 ozs) grated cheddar
8 Tbs unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp dried rosemary
1 tsp sea salt, plus more sprinkling
1 tsp crushed red pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne

Cream butter and cheese together in a large bowl with an electric mixer or a wooden spoon until smooth and well combined.  Stir together the flour, rosemary, red pepper, and cayenne in a separate bowl.

Turn the dough onto a piece of wax or parchment paper. Roll into log shape. Wrap in paper and refrigerate for several hours or over night until dough is firm and sliceable.

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 375 degrees. Remove dough from refrigerator. Cut the log into 1/4″ slices and arrange on baking sheet. Using fork, prick each cracker several times and sprinkle with salt. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until golden brown around the edges.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely. Store in an airtight container for up to three days.

~~~~~~
Okay. I have issues with this recipe. Now I know I’m a bit of a cracker snob and all, but I should have trusted my gut and not used dried rosemary. How I so regret losing my huge rosemary plant. Must start a new one as soon as can be.

Cayenne and red pepper flakes makes for a hot cracker, perhaps too much. I will stick with just cayenne from now on. Don’t need the extra salt on top – too much.

Dough was super nice, bake time was spot on. Easy to put together with things on hand, so not all is bad, but I think it could be better with just a few adjustments.

FostersMarketCookbook

Foster’s Market

One of my favorite memories of my time in Chapel Hill, NC., was going to Foster’s Market. This cookbook is the only one I’ve ever stood in line to get signed and I got one for my great friend too. Sara Foster is so amazing. Both the Durham store, just off the 15-501, and the Chapel Hill store on Airport. It was the place I took all my friends who came to visit. If I could ever open a restaurant/shop, it would be a combination of Foster’s Market, European Street in Jacksonville, FL – my home city (not a town), and Food Glorious Food in Tallahassee, FL.

Source: Foster’s Market

 

Leave a Reply

