Ham & Swiss Sliders

D&D-9150

Ham & Swiss Sliders

08 July 2002 – Lawn Party Sandwiches – Southern on Occasion – The Junior League of Cobb – Marietta, Inc., p. 71. My first version of this apparently, ubiquitous recipe, and it is special for me. This is my variation after many different iterations.

This (Southern on Occasion) is the first cookbook The Man of the House bought for me. We saw it at Kevin’s Guns and Sporting Goods. I really liked it.  But my, then boyfriend, said later that  he purchased it for his sister-in-law for Christmas. I understood that because he’s good at gifts, but wasn’t exactly pleased since it was the only copy.

Imagined how surprised I was to find it really was for me. He did this way before he was the Man of the House, but it seems fitting that I made something from it for our pre-wedding celebration at the Highland Lake Inn. It was a Monday evening since we were doing everything different  – we were married on a Tuesday – the second best day of my life – The Boy has to take just a bit of precedence. But that Monday with just a small group of family and friends was, well, really just so wonderful.

This is my new version of the same basic idea – I mean, how can you go wrong with ham and melty cheese?

1 package Hawaiian Sweet Rolls
1/3 pound sliced ham (recommended: Boar’s Head Tavern ham)
1/3 pound sliced baby Swiss
4 Tbs unsalted butter, softened
3 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
2 Tbs Dijon mustard
3 Tbs grated onion

Cut the rolls in half horizontally and keep bottom in one piece, as best as possible. In a small bowl mix butter, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon, and grated onion. Spread evenly on bottom half of rolls.

Top with the sliced ham and then sliced cheese. Wrap in foil. At this point you can bake or refrigerate. I think it is best to refrigerate overnight. It makes party day a bit easier to do it a day ahead.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake uncovered for 15 minutes or until cheese melts and rolls are slightly toasty.

Leave a Reply

