Pecan Tassies (w/walnuts included, on occasion)

I have no real idea where I found this recipe.  I’m guessing (totally) Southern Living or something like that. I’ve been making these long before the Boy was born. When I lived in a “southern” city that was not very Southern at all – Jacksonville, FL. What a strange place.  So many people from somewhere else, so it wasn’t southern at all, but my family was. Both my parents were from small towns in the Sandhills of North Carolina.  Just simple people who worked hard and raised families and worked in textile mills, and on the railroad, and on farms and  had extra kids for, well, just in case you needed them. Not the pretty parts of North Carolina that I’ve been to (Asheville, Ski Beech, Flat Rock (where the Man of the House and I were married) or Chapel Hill where we lived for a couple of years – just lovely), but the scrabbly parts – where people were getting by, but knew how to make great food. I was about to go into a whole Eastern Carolina BBQ thing, but I’ll save that for another time. This just got away from me (yep – Dr. Who).

Pecan/Walnut Tassies

This was not a recipe of my family’s, but it became a very requested thing. A not-sweet dough, but a sweet, pecan pie-like filling, that balances out very nicely.

Pecan Tassies

[1st – not sure where the word “tassies” comes from. Guess I need to figure that out.]

8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 cups all purpose flour
2 large eggs
2 cups dark brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1  1/2 cups pecans, chopped (I mix both pecans and walnuts)
~~~~

Beat cream cheese and butter together until smooth. Add the flour and pat into disk and chill.

Lightly beat eggs and add sugar and vanilla and stir in pecans (or whatever combination of nuts).

Press dough into greased mini muffin pans and fill with nut mixture with in 1/4 inch of the top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 – 28 minutes turning pans half way through.

 

 

Leave a Reply

